E-pass 2003As per Section 18 of The Information Technology Act, 2000 provides the required legal sanctity to the digital signatures based on asymmetric cryptosystems. The digital signatures are now accepted at par with handwritten signatures and the electronic documents that have been digitally signed are treated at par with paper documents.

The IT Act provides for the Controller of Certifying Authorities(CCA) to license and regulate the working of Certifying Authorities. The Certifying Authorities (CA’s) issue digital signature certificates for electronic authentication of users.

The Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA) has been appointed by the Central Government under section 17 of the Act for purposes of the IT Act. The Office of the CCA came into existence on November 1, 2000. It aims at promoting the growth of E-Commerce and E- Governance through the wide use of digital signatures.

The Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA) has established the Root Certifying Authority (RCAI) of India under section 18(b) of the IT Act to digitally sign the public keys of Certifying Authorities (CA) in the country. The RCAI is operated as per the standards laid down under the Act.

The CCA certifies the public keys of CAs using its own private key, which enables users in the cyberspace to verify that a given certificate is issued by a licensed CA. For this purpose it operates, the Root Certifying Authority of India(RCAI). The CCA also maintains the Repository of Digital Certificates, which contains all the certificates issued to the CAs in the country.

Current Certifying Authorities 

Safescrypt (SIFY)




GNFC (N-Code)




What is the role of Registration Authority (RA)?

A Registration Authority (RA) is responsible for initiating the certificate issuance process after receiving approved application request from the Local Registration Authority. Revocation requests for Digital Certificates from subscribers/ authorized representative of the subscriber are also handled by the RA.

What is the role of Local Registration Authority (LRA)?

An LRA (Local Registration Authority) is an agent of the Certifying Authority who collects the application forms for Digital Signature Certificates and related documents, for verification and approval/rejection of application based on verification.

Type of DSC

Based on usage the Digital Signature can be categorized into 3 broad categories which are as under:

Class 2 – This is generally used for filing documents Income Tax, Registrar of Companies and VAT.

Class 3 – This is required for e-tendering, which is a procurement process that is conducted online. Some of the areas it helps in include:
•   Supplier registration/expression of interest
•   Contract download
•   Submission of bid document
•   Evaluation of tenders (May or may not involve e-auctions)

DGFT DSC – DGFT Digital Certification facility offered by us finds extensive usage among Exporters & Importers. Operated under Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT), it is a solution developed for Exporter-Importer community in India that enable them to interact as well as transact with DGFT online with security and confidence. Digital Signature Certificate that is specially designed for Indian Exporters or Importers that enables digital signing of online License applications Benefits of using Safe EXIM:

•  Cost Savings
•  DGFT has extended attractive monetary incentives for Safe EXIM users
•  DGFT charges only 50% of application fee for applications that are digitally signed using Safe EXIM
•  Reduced turnaround time by DGFT for license issuance
•  Convenience & Security
•  Logon to DGFT portal using Safe EXIM is far more secure than using user ID / Password based system
•  Making impossible Impersonation of client’s or their organization online
•  Confidentiality of the transaction assured
•  Integrity of information submitted online no longer in doubt
•  Fraud minimized as the data cannot be tampered with
•  Digitally signed applications that ensure non-repudiation, thus bringing trust as well as confidence into entire online experience
•  Usage of Safe EXIM reduces paperwork considerably for user, thus bringing down associated costs


Under MCA21 Every person who is required to sign manual documents and returns filed with ROC is required to obtain a Digital Signature Certificate (DSC). Accordingly following have to obtain Digital Signature Certificate:
1. Directors
2. Auditors
3. Company Secretary – Whether in practice or in job.
4. Bank Officials – for Registration and Satisfaction of Charges
5. Other Authorized Signatories.

Why Digital Signatures?

Ministry of Company Affairs, Government of India (GoI) has initiated MCA21 program, for easy and secure access to its services in a manner that best suits the businesses and citizens. MCA21 is envisioned to provide anytime and anywhere services to businesses. It is a pioneering program being the first mission mode e-governance project being undertaken in the country. This program builds on the GOI vision to introduce a Service Oriented Approach in the design and delivery of Government services, establish a healthy business ecosystem and make the country globally competitive. The MCA21 application is designed to support Class 2 & 3 Digital Signature Certificates (DSC) issued by licensed Certifying Authority under Controller of Certifying Authorities.

Those individuals recommended and forwarded by Superior Authority or those who approach any RA office operating under CA with proper certification from Chartered Accountant/Cost Accountant can avail our certification services for obtaining digital certificate.

Basic Cost 

  • Class 2 With Token 2 Years 699
  • Class 2 Without Token 2 Years 399
  • Class 2B With Encryption Plus Token 2 Years 1499
  • Class 3 With Token 2 Years 2999
  • Class 3 With Encryption Plus Token 2 Years 3499
  • Class 3B With Token 2 Years 3499
  • Class 3B With Encryption Plus Token 2 Years 3499
  • DGFT 2 Years 3499
  • E-pass Auto Token – 325

You can purchase your DSC through this LINK